MCC Recognizes Top Students

Awards Students

Nominated for the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award, Reagan Hunsucker of Troy will graduate this spring with an Associate in Science degree, a Nurse Aide I Certificate and a Phlebotomy Certificate. In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award as a way to recognize student leadership on a statewide level while also honoring former Governor Bob Scott. This award is designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.

Abrianna Morris
Carter Griffin

Abrianna Morris, recipient of MCC’s Academic Excellence Award, is a resident of Biscoe. She will graduate thi spring with an Associate in Arts degree. One student from each of the 58 North Carolina community colleges receives an Academic Excellence Award. Students must be currently enrolled, have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate degree program, and have a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25. Abrianna will receive a plaque and medallion in honor of her academic accomplishments.

Carter Griffin, nominated for the Dallas Herring Achievement Award, is a resident of Biscoe. This spring, he will graduate with an Associate degree in Engineering. The Dallas Herring Achievement Award was established by the North Carolina Community College System in 2010 to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates of community colleges. The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”