MCC Inducts Students into Honor Society

Awards Events Students

Thirty-three Montgomery Community College students were inducted into the college’s Beta Xi Omicron chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society on April 27th. Family and friends were in attendance to celebrate the occasion.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to promote scholarship, the development of leadership and service, and the cultivation of fellowship among qualified students. This year’s Inductees have worked hard to meet the eligibility for Phi Theta Kappa, completing at least 12 semester hours of associate degree general education coursework with a grade point average of 3.5. They also adhere to the school code of conduct and possess recognized qualities of citizenship.

In addition to pledging allegiance to the society and its ideals, students signed their names in the chapter membership book and received a candle, which represents light, the exploration of truth and dedication to the cultivation of well-reasoned life, a prelude to serve and honor.

The inductees in the 2023 cohort are: Cade Auman, Deysi B. Basurto, Breanna D. Batten, Raegan N. Blackmon, Chastity D. Blalock, Amy Creider, Johanna Cruz Elizalde, Faethe H. Davis, Olivia A. Davis, Luke A. Epps, Sasha R. Eury, Carter M. Griffin, Alida-Gene Haskin, Emily Islas, Joseph Jimenez, April Lamonds

Teddy C. Lynn, Kyle L. Martin, Jocelyn K. McBride, Laney M. McCollum, Katie B. Osborne, Alan Persin, Brittany G. Qualls, Mikaela Robinson, Joshua D. Ryan, Taylor Scheer, Rena Shimada, Riki Shimada, Landon Singthong, Eduardo Vargas Lizardi, Damaris F. Villalobos, Emaline K. Vuncannon and John D. Williams.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the international honor society of students attending open-access institutions and seeking associate degrees, bachelor’s degrees, or other college credentials. Its headquarters is in Jackson, Mississippi, and has more than 3.5 million members in nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations.