Humanitarian Award 2017

The Montgomery Community College Foundation recently announced the recipients of its Humanitarian of the Year Award for 2017.

The Foundation annually recognizes community members whose service enables the Foundation to provide the greatest amount of assistance to its students in need. The Humanitarian Award is given to the individual or group that most exemplifies a spirit of goodwill and generosity not only to the benefit of Montgomery Community College, but also to the community at large.

The MCC Foundation recognized the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners and Montgomery County Manager as the Humanitarian Award recipient at last Tuesday’s Board of Commissioners meeting. A delegation from the college presented the each of the commissioners and the county manager with a 50 th anniversary pottery mug made by the pottery students along with a commemorative plaque.

“We recognize the County Commissioners and County Manager for their foresight in bringing the consolidated high school project to fruition which will include the joint technical center,” said Dr. Chad Bledsoe, MCC President. “It will open up more educational opportunities in the county and make our graduates globally competitive. We are grateful for the cooperation and support that the county has provided over the last year and we look forward to continuing the fruitful partnership we have enjoyed,” he said. 

Montgomery Community College Foundation named Montgomery County Commissioners and County Manager as its 2017 Humanitarian Award recipient. Pictured L-R: Matthew Woodard (county manager), Wayne Wooten (commissioner), Mike Criscoe (commissioner), Claudia Bulthuis (MCC chairman of the board of trustees), Jackie Morris (chairman of the board of commissioners), Anthony Copeland (vice chairman of the board of commissioners), Jean Abbott (MCC chairman of the foundation board of directors), Dr. Chad Bledsoe (MCC president), and Jim Matheny (commissioner).